The Nataly Dawn Solo Album – News and Release Date

First up, a video:

 

And now, some words:

As you may have noticed, my album did NOT in fact come out in the summer of 2012. I am so very sorry for this and for keeping you in the dark, but I am finally in a place where I can tell you what’s going to happen with the release!

Over the last several months, I’ve been talking with Nonesuch about how to go about releasing this album, and I’m happy to say that we’ve decided to work together! I can’t tell you how encouraging it is to be working with such passionate and intelligent people. People who care about music, and who are pleasantly old fashioned in the way they deal with artists. You know…like they care about the music (weird, right?) They’re good people, and I’m very grateful to have them helping me with this album release.

Unfortunately, the Back-to-School and Holiday Seasons are not the best time for debut albums to come on the scene. It’s GREAT if you’re Beyoncé or Bon Iver or some other Grammy-winning artist with a GIGANTIC marketing budget, but not if you’re a wee little folk artist like me.

So we’ve decided to wait till January to release the album. January 22nd to be precise.

The GOOD news is that:

1. I couldn’t be happier with the album.

2. I’m confident that planning out the release was NOT a waste of time.

3. You’ll get to hear FOUR of the songs on the album before it’s released, because I’m going to be putting out FOUR VideoSongs over the course of the next several months!

I apologize once again for making you wait so long to hear the music, but I’m pretty sure that it will be worth the wait. Thank you again for your incredible patience and stay tuned for more updates!

Nataly’s Kickstarter Page has some extra information, which goes thus:

Over the last several months, I’ve been in the midst of negotiating a contract with Nonesuch, and I’m happy to say that we’ve worked out apretty swell deal. I can’t tell you how encouraging it is to be working with such passionate and intelligent people. People who care about music, and who are pleasantly old fashioned in the way they work with artists. You know, like they “care” about them (weird, right?) They’re good people, and I’m very grateful to have them helping me with this album release.

Unfortunately, the Back-to-School and Holiday Seasons are not the best time for debut albums to come on the scene. It’s GREAT if you’re Beyoncé or Bon Iver or some other established artist with a GIGANTIC marketing budget or Christmas Album, but not if you’re a wee little folk artist like me.

So we’ve decided to wait till January to release the album. January 22ndto be precise.

The GOOD NEWS is that you will all be receiving your Kickstarter packages within the next couple months. I’m going to start fulfilling those ASAP. Also, I’m going to give you FOUR SONGS long before the album comes out. Exclusively for Kickstarter backers!

This week, we will send out surveys to get all the details on your packages (what size T-shirt you want, etc.) and AS SOON AS WE GET PEOPLE’S EMAIL ADDRESSES we will send out the first song!

So even though the album doesn’t come out till January, YOU will get to start hearing songs NEXT WEEK!

I apologize once again for making you wait so long for the music and packages. I can’t thank you enough for your patience. Really. Thank you so much. I promise that it will be worth the wait.

Love,

-Nataly

P.S. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask them in the comments section of this YouTube video because I don’t always see the comments on the Kickstarter page!

Leave a Reply

