Steve Jobs: 1955-2011 *Updated with Time Magazine Cover and Book Launch Date Revision*

Apple has lost a visionary and a creative genius, and the world has lost an amazing human being.  Those of us who have been fortunate enough to know and work with Steve have lost a dear friend and an inspiring mentor.  Steve leaves behind a company that only he could have built, and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple.

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”  –  Steven P Jobs, Stanford 2005

And what about me, a Mac user of some 11 years?  It started in North Wales in 1996 when someone gave me an Apple IIe.  Yes.  GAVE me.  I used it as a glorified wordprocessor and didn’t think an awful lot about it, its construct or its heritage.  And little did I know that in five short years, Apple Computer Inc were to shake the world to its very foundation.  Something that I shamefully admit I didn’t notice!

In 2005, with the IIe long-gone, I’d finally discovered iPod.  It was what we’d now call “The Classic” (at least what we DID call ‘The Classic’ (after Apple seemingly knocked it on the head during Tuesday’s Keynote)).  It was heavy.  Noisy.  Unreliable.  And then I saw my first “new” Mac.  It was a friends’ 12″ PowerBook.  I loved it.  It was tiny, powerful, and did everything I thought I wanted to do with a computer.  I would have bought one solely because it had a light on the lid.  Until I saw GarageBand.

I was on the net in no time at all ordering a white polycarbonate iBook.  When it turned up a couple of days later it didn’t work.  At all.  On the phone to Apple straight away I told of my predicament.  “Oh Jesus!” replied the charming Irish girl at Apple.  It was collected, and within a couple of days a brand, spanking, WORKING new one appeared.  I was in my element.

In the six years since, I’ve owned (or own) the iBook, two 12″ PowerBooks, a Mac Classic, Tangerine iBook, 20″ iMac, 13″ 2010 MacBook Pro, Performa 405, PowerBook 170, iPod Classic, iPhone 3G and iPhone 4.  More importantly, I’ve loved them all.  Found them all useful in their own right, from GarageBand to Final Cut Pro X, down to the Terminal or iTunes.  I never leave the house without the iPhone.  I feel physically lost without it.  It organises my (still) disorganised life better than I ever could on my own.  The Mac has got me back into music, and now video composition and editing too.  I Tweet, I blog, I do whatever you do on FaceBook … I fell in love with the Mac – I fell in love thanks to a Mac.  The Oatmeal produced a wonderful cartoon about what it’s like to own an Apple product.  It’s true for a lot of us, and I urge you to follow this link and have a look at it.

Even though the wrong side of 40, it’s still my desire to be directly involved with this company somehow.  Steve Jobs has moved on to the iCloud now, and in a way, all of our lives will be missing something this morning.

Tenby, 6 October 2011

Update

Time Magazine has just issued its cover for the latest edition.  Very nice.

Water Isaacson’s book on Steve Jobs has been brought forward for release on 24th October 2011.

Tim Cook, Apple CEO, issued this to all Apple Staff:

Apple Media Advisory

Apple CEO Tim Cook today sent the following email to all Apple employees:

Team,

I have some very sad news to share with all of you. Steve passed away earlier today.

Apple has lost a visionary and creative genius, and the world has lost an amazing human being. Those of us who have been fortunate enough to know and work with Steve have lost a dear friend and an inspiring mentor. Steve leaves behind a company that only he could have built, and his spirit will forever be the foundation of Apple.

We are planning a celebration of Steve’s extraordinary life for Apple employees that will take place soon. If you would like to share your thoughts, memories and condolences in the interim, you can simply email rememberingsteve@apple.com.

No words can adequately express our sadness at Steve’s death or our gratitude for the opportunity to work with him. We will honor his memory by dedicating ourselves to continuing the work he loved so much.

Tim

Press Contacts:

Katie Cotton
Apple
katiec@apple.com
(408) 974-7269

Steve Dowling
Apple
dowling@apple.com
(408) 974-1896

One thought on “Steve Jobs: 1955-2011 *Updated with Time Magazine Cover and Book Launch Date Revision*

Leave a Reply

