Apple OSX 10.7 Lion: Quick Look

Just installed my Developers Version.  Getting to grips with it.  Firstly, I don’t like the rubber-banding in Safari.  Secondly, my mouse scroll was back-to-front and I had to change that.  I do like the spelling auto-correct – it seems to be working as I’m typing this in WordPress, as well as in Word 2011.

I had a new wallpaper as default when the system rebooted for the first time.  I think it’s Mount Fuji.  Anyway, what struck me was how clean the desktop looked.  There was something about it.  In the Dock were a couple of new icons, namely FaceTime (which I binned) and ‘Launchpad’.  I clicked LaunchPad and got this:

A Launchpad Window. CLICK TO ENLARGE.

There were four Launchpad windows, which could be navigated by clicking one of the small dots at the bottom of the screen.  These dots are impossibly small, actually, and if you miss them only slightly, the whole Launchpad closes and you’re back to your desktop, which is damn annoying!  Alternatively, I tried navigating through them with the trackpad.  This worked sometimes.

In the top right hand corner of the screen appears your username.  This unnerved me a little at first, and when I clicked on it, I was given a menu:

Login Window and User/Group Preferences

When you click on ‘Login Window’, the screen sweeps round and pretty-much logs you out of the OS.  You can get back in by typing your administrator password.  After that, the screen sweeps back round and you’re back to the desktop you left behind.

When you go to restart or shut down, there’s a new option:

It seems that you can leave some windows open, shut down, and when you come back, the windows will still be there for you.  I can’t think of a use for this, to be honest, but I’m sure it will come in handy for someone.

I mentioned the auto-correct for spelling earlier.  Normally when you spell something incorrectly, it’s underlined in red.  If your spelling is really atrocious, it will stay red, but if you’re nearly there, the word gets corrected and underlined in blue.  Thus:

You can see that ‘fortunate’ is underlined.  I’ve been experimenting with spelling things slightly wrong, and the correction success is pretty damn good.

The wireless sharing of music and stuff between the Mac and my iPhone seems to be working, after a couple of initial problems.  I can access (via wifi) the music on my Mac from my iPhone 4.  Sharing needs to be switched on in iTunes and in the iPod settings on the phone.  Other than that, there’s not a lot else to say.  I don’t have video on the Mac, so I don’t know whether video sharing works too, but in the iTunes preferences, you can choose what kinds of media you want to share.  I just went for music.  I may put a video in there later on to see whether that works too.

Something else I stumbled across was a thing called ‘Browse Versions’. I took a snapshot of a portion of the screen, and now, to the top right of the image, there’s a little arrow, that when you click on it, you get a ‘Browse All Versions’ option.  Click on that, and this happens:

I can only speculate that this shows differences in the same file.  I need to work on this a little more.

I haven’t found a program that doesn’t work in Lion yet.  There are a few little bugs I’ve noticed, like the trackpad gestures not being consistent, and now and again, you need to click on something twice to make it work, like a button in WordPress, for example.  This does grate on the nerves after a little while.  I’ve already had to walk away from this Blog page twice.  Annoying.

I’ll add more to this quick review as I find it.

Leave a Reply

