You don’t wanna mess with me …

Developers.  If you’re going to update your apps to work with iOS4, can you please make sure they work properly first.  And you, Apple – don’t you check these things either?

Case in point is David Mitchell’s soapbox app.  I like David Mitchell.  There’s more humour in one of his toenail clippings than there is in a bargeload of James Corden’s.  Not that you’d get many James Corden’s in a barge.  He is, after all, supremely fat.

Imagine my delight at seeing the app update waiting for me this morning.  Imagine, again, my annoyance at it not working at all – just like it had not previously worked.

Which brings me on to all the annoying little things that my 3G iPhone now WON’T do since the iOS4 update.  Such as:

* Camera doesn’t always work – black pictures a lot of the time, slow to start up also
* Phone gets incredibly warm
* Getting lots of missed calls even though there’s supposedly a very good signal
* Other allegedly updated apps like ‘Words for Friends’ always crashing and doing other odd things
* When I get a call, the phone either doesn’t show who’s calling, or will display some other profile picture

On the plus side (and there is only one thing), it’s a lot quicker at picking up a wireless signal.

Today (Monday) Apple are supposed to release a patch to cure the “touch of death” as it’s being bandied.  I hope it addresses some of the issues that I’ve mentioned above, too.  Sort it out, Steve.  You don’t want to be getting an email from me now, do you?

UPDATE:

Something that Mikki pointed out to me, which I was aware of but hadn’t really grated on my nerves until now, was the fact you can only get nine apps in a folder.  As a result, I now have two Utilities Folders on my home screen.  I’d like to see this adjusted in future – surely it won’t be too hard to scroll through a folder?

Leave a Reply

